Selected Works of McKim Mead & White, 1879-1915 (Hardcover)

Selected Works of McKim Mead & White, 1879-1915 Cover Image
$100.00
Ships from Warehouse

Description


McKim, Mead & White is the best-known architecture firm of late nineteenth and early twentieth century America, having built many iconic buildings of America's Gilded Age, from Columbia University and Boston Public Library, to mansions for the nineteenth century's wealthiest, including Frederick Vanderbilt, John Jacob Astor, Henry Frick, J.P. Morgan, and Andrew Carnegie (now the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum), as well as the American Academy in Rome. Selected Works of McKim, Mead & White, published in association with the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art, collects the work of these important architects during their most prolific period, condensing four volumes into one magnificent edition.

About the Author


Richard Guy Wilson holds the Commonwealth Professor's Chair in Architectural History at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. He has authored, co-authored, or edited over a dozen books.

Praise For…


"'Selected Works' reminds us that it is possible to be a large and hugely successful architecture firm without compromising excellence."
- Providence Journal

"[A] stunning reprinting of a 1915 monograph."
- Architectural Digest Online

"The new four-volumes-in-one captures the full breadth of their work, from their beginnings designing wooden houses for the newly wealthy, to their long period of dominance with huge, skyline-dominating structures like Columbia University's Low Library and the Rhode Island State Capitol. The enormous pages show incredible photos of their completed projects alongside elaborate plans and opulent interiors, including of their renovations for the White House."
- CityLab

"The all-in-one four volumes are nothing short of your basic spectacular, from some of America's best designers. "McKim, Mead & White at the turn of the century was the leading architecture firm, designing major landmarks in major cities like New York, Newport, Boston, and Providence," [Hartman] says. "There were also college campuses at New York University, Columbia, Harvard, Bowdoin, Vassar, Radcliffe and even the University of Illinois."...The firm worked on nearly every major project during the nation's Gilded Age. Now most of their projects are contained in a single volume."
- Architects + Artisans

"..the book is a must for fans of McKim, Mead & White and of Classical architecture and urbanism."
- A Daily Dose of Architecture
Product Details
ISBN: 9781616897574
ISBN-10: 1616897570
Publisher: Princeton Architectural Press
Publication Date: November 20th, 2018
Language: English